Hospital 0481 2592001  
Casualty 2592475

DEPARTMENT OF Anaesthesiology

Dept. Head :Dr. Letha J.
OP Days & Time:Pre-Anaesthetic checkup (OP on all days except Sundays 9 am to 1 pm)
Pain and Palliative clinic (OP on all days except Sundays 9 am to 1 pm)

About us

The Department of Anaesthesiology, GMC Kottayam initially worked as a subspeciality under the department of surgery in 1965 under Dr Mary George. It then began functioning independently as a separate department in 1969 under the able leadership of Dr Mary George. Over the years it has steadily grown and become a state- of –the- art centre for clinical excellence ,education and research.

Currently the department is headed by Dr Sheela Verghese and it also include 4 Associate Professors and 21 Assistant Professors. We have 1 Theatre Assistant and 13 Theatre Technicians

The department caters to various specialities and superspecialities like General Surgery, Orthopaedics, ENT, Ophthalmology, OBG, Urology, Neurosurgery, Oncosurgery, Gastrosurgery, OMFS, Plastic Surgery, Paediatric Surgery and CTVS .In addition to that we also provide Anaesthesia for Cardiac Catheterization, Interventional Radiology, Radiotherapy and ECT.

The MultIi-disciplinary Intensive Care Unit, under the Department of Anaesthesia established in 2016, is a 26 bedded ICU which caters to around 150 to 200 critically ill patients per month. It is well equiped with high end monitors, point of care ultrasound ,dialysis and CRRT machines. We also have an ECMO machine which is an advanced lifesaving technology.


  • Postoperative Recovery
  • Acute and Chronic pain management
  • Labour Analgesia
  • Transplant Anaesthesia for Heart, Liver, Kidney and Cornea
  • Anaesthesia for elective cases in surgery and allied superspecialities.
  • Anaesthesia for non-operating room procedures like ECT, DSA, CT, MRI, Interventional Radiology, Assisted Reproductive Techniques.
  • Emergency Critical care in casualty
  • Critical Care ICU
  • Emergency anaesthesia for Trauma and other surgical specialities
  • Anaesthesia for organ harvesting for brain dead organ donor.


1Dr. Letha J.Professor and HOD
2Dr. Santhi K.S.Associate Professor
3Dr. Ganga G.Associate Professor
4Dr. Jamuna RaniAssociate Professor
5Dr. Ratheesh Kumar R.Associate Professor
6Dr. Rejimol VargheseAssistant Professor
7Dr. Sreedevi C. R.Assistant Professor
8Dr. Sheeba FranklinAssistant Professor
9Dr. Elizabeth JosephAssistant Professor
10Dr. Anuraj V.T.Assistant Professor
11Dr Susan T. CheeranAssistant Professor
12Dr. Sethunadh R.Assistant Professor
13Dr. Suja K.C.Assistant Professor
14Dr. Thomas JosephAssistant Professor
15Dr. Shiril Ashraf M.A.Assistant Professor
16Dr. Nirmala MathewAssistant Professor
17Dr. Priya M.T.Assistant Professor
18Roshin Reeba JosephAssistant Professor
19Kavitha P.Assistant Professor
20Dr. Febin SatharAssistant Professor
21Dr. Divya D.Assistant Professor
22Dr.Sherin Sara RoyAssistant Professor
23Dr. Bincy V. ThomasAssistant Professor
24Dr. Elizabeth Lovely C.A.Assistant Professor


  1. MD Anaesthesia – 14 seats / year
  2. DOTAT Course – 10 seats /year


  • Classes for UG( MBBS, BDS), PG Students and nursing students.
  • Lecture classes for DOTAT trainees
  • In house training for BLS and ACLS for interns, PGs and nurses.
  • Research activities for PGs as well as Faculties.
  • PhD programme.

Government Medical College

Kerala Pin-686008
Copy Right © 2007 Govt. Medical College Kottayam
Last Updated on 12-06-2023
Developed by Browsetechnologies